Phi Theta Kappa inducts 15 in Amerika Samoa

Photo Credit: 
J. Kneubuhl
ASCC Division of Student Services Tutorial Coordinator Tala Ropeti-Leo (far left), keynote speaker at last week's Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) induction with inductees Simanu Lili'o, Oina Leo and Elizabeth Leo.

(PAGO PAGO--TUESDAY, MARCH 8, 2016)--The Alpha Epsilon Mu Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society at the American Samoa Community College (ASCC) inducted 15 honorees last week.

ASCC held its spring 2016 induction ceremony on Thursday, Mar. 3, to welcome its new members for this semester. Family and friends of the new and current PTK members joined ASCC administrators and faculty for an intimate ceremony in the College’s lecture hall to induct 15 of the College’s “best and brightest” into the prestigious Honor Society.

With the Chinese proverb “The Journey is the Reward,” as the evening’s theme, the keynote speaker, Mrs. Tala Ropeti-Leo, Tutorial Coordinator with the ASCC Division of Student Services further explored the idea of focusing on the process of achievement rather than the results.

An alumnus of Iakina Adventist Academy and Fagaitua High School, Mrs. Ropeti-Leo received her Associate of Arts degree from ASCC, her Bachelors in Psychology from Argosy University, and recently completed Masters of Science in Educational Psychology from Walden University.

In keeping with the theme of the evening, her address to the PTK inductees included the “three be’s” essential to a successful journey: be persistent, be resilient, and be prayerful. Following Mrs. Ropeti-Leo’s talk, the 15 inductees took the oath to uphold the values of the PTK, and performed the ceremonial lighting of candles representing the mythical Greek “flame of knowledge."

The evening included guest vocalist Pae Tuiasosopo collaborating with the inductees to perform the PTK theme song “Light Your Candle,” as well as Words of Encouragement from current PTK lead advisor Mr. Kuki Tuiasosopo. Acting Dean of Academic Affairs Mrs. Evelyn Gibbs Fruean, Dean of Student Services Dr. Emilia Le’i, and Program Director of Counseling Ms. Annie Panama joined the family and friends of the inductees to support the PTK.

Phi Theta Kappa recognizes and encourages excellence in scholarship among associate degree students.

The Greek words Phi Theta Kappa mean wisdom (Phi), aspiration (Theta) and purity (Kappa).

The society bases its programs on its four hallmarks: scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship. The society provides more than $35 million worth of scholarships annually to students nationwide. Each member is automatically nominated for inclusion in the prestigious National Dean’s List, and is also enrolled in the PTK Transfer Database, which links senior institutions across the nation offering scholarships to PTK members.

Every semester, PTK advisors Mrs. Toaiva Fiame-Tago (currently on sabbatical) Mr. Tuiasosopo and honorary advisor Mrs. Gibbs-Fruean, review the ASCC Dean’s List and other relevant data to determine which students qualify for the membership in the Society. Candidates must have taken at least 12 credits, passed their English 150, English 151 and Math 90 classes, and have earned a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Qualifying students receive an invitation to join PTK, and most of those invited readily accept the offer.